Annual college races

The IT Sligo College races take place this Wednesday 24 March.  This is the second year of the annual event and the first races commence at 11am.

The event is organised by year First Year Recreation and Leisure students and sees teams from a variety of areas within IT Sligo and the surrounding community competing to win the Martin Sheridan perpetual Trophy. The Trophy is named in honour of a local Olympic hero from Bohola Co. Mayo, who’s achievements in a variety of throwing events paved the way for many participating in Irish athletics today.  The Trophy reminds us of a figure that, up to now, was somewhat forgotten by history .


A number of 6 person teams (3 female and 3 male on each) will compete in a mixture of track and field events. The teams accumulate points as each individual competes.  Last year the combined team of Summerhill and the Ursuline College took the honours of first place.

For further info:

Kerry Larkin

IT Sligo News

IT Sligo Events

Date Range (2019)

IT Sligo Innovation

Date Range (2019)

IT Sligo International

Date Range (2019)

IT Sligo Online Learning

Date Range (2019)