Maths Support Centre

The Maths Support Centre offers free tutoring and support on all mathematical aspects of degree programmes to all students of IT Sligo, whether you are studying online or on campus.

The Mathematics Support Centre is a special inter-school initiative of the Institute.

It is now well known that many capable students, for a variety of reasons, may find it difficult to achieve the required standards in mathematics to support their degree studies.

The purpose of the centre is to support students’ mathematics learning across all programmes in the Institute of Technology Sligo by:

  • Providing a dedicated area with supervised access to help and resources in a relaxed environment
  • Delivering appropriate support services for students on service mathematics courses
  • Addressing the mathematics needs of special groups

To avail of our full range of services, please visit the open access Maths Support Centre Moodle Page (all students are automatically enrolled onto this page).

There you can contact our tutors directly, book one to one appointments, book group sessions, book online tutorials and submit problems for correction.  

All services are provided free of charge to all IT Sligo students (both online and campus students).

How we can help

Maths Support Centre Tutor

Drop-in Service

During our drop-in sessions, you will be helped on a first come, first served basis. Stay for as long or as short as you like. You are welcome to attend any session that suits you and there is no need to make an appointment.

Bring your lecture notes with you, along with a calculator and any other relevant material, including homework and your attempted work. The Mathematics Support Centre is designed to be a supplement to lectures and tutorials, not a substitute for these.

It is important that you come to the centre as soon as you have a query/problem; the earlier you come, the easier it is to sort it out!

Drop-in Sessions Schedule


Thursday 1pm-2pm 


Services available for students include:

  •  Individual student consultation
  • Tailored group tutorials
  • Study area

Leaving Cert Maths Support

Free Maths Revision Course

Each year over the Easter Holidays, IT Sligo hosts Free Maths Revision Days for Leaving Certificate students to help prepare them for their Ordinary Level Maths Leaving Certificate Examinations.

Last year the course ran online over 2 days, from April 14th-15th. You can find recordings and notes from the online classes below.

Details of future courses will be posted here in the Spring of each year.

Recordings from Leaving Cert Maths Easter Revision Course 2020 can be viewed and downloaded opposite.

Contact Us

Email the centre directly with any general queries or if you want to find out more about how the centre can help you.